Hamburg, February 24th 2020 In the future, TV broadcaster will find it much easier to integrate US films and series into their HbbTV media libraries (“Hybrid Broadcasting Broadband TV”). This means on SmartTV devices with HbbTV , which have both digital television and the Internet.

The integration of US content into these media libraries has so far often failed because of the required DRM protection (“Digital Rights Management”) for this content, a digital copy protection system, with which content from overseas in particular is encrypted. The broadcasters were therefore faced with a dilemma: either they invest in a service provider who would design an HbbTV app tailored to DRM for them, or they do without this specially protected content.

This problem is now a thing of the past. TeraVolt GmbH, an agency for digital TV products, has succeeded in harmonizing DRM-protected content and HbbTV media libraries and playing them out on suitable SmartTVs. HbbTV provides the technical basis for this and allows the combination of DRM-protected content in a freely available HbbTV offer to be implemented in the German SmartTV landscape. Currently, this solution is being used by the family channel Super RTL, for which TeraVolt has built and continuously supports its own HbbTV media library. The concept can be transferred to any other media library and is therefore also interesting for other TV stations for which TeraVolt was able to solve a problem that had existed for years.

Oliver Koch, managing director and co-founder of TeraVolt, is correspondingly proud of the work that has been done: “It took a lot of effort and brainpower to make this DRM standard usable, which opens up completely new possibilities for our customers. In addition, there are hardly any other competitors offering such a solution, but there is all the more demand in the market. Our DRM solution can therefore develop into a real USP”.

The bottom line is that TeraVolt is killing three birds with one stone with its new HbbTV solution: rights holders, for example of US series, are gaining in reach as their content is distributed even more widely. The licensees, i.e. TV stations such as Super RTL, can in turn implement more content in their own HbbTV media libraries and play it out directly to their viewers. And the viewers themselves are provided with a more diverse range of offers from which they can choose.

About TeraVolt

TeraVolt GmbH is an owner-managed agency for enhanced TV, based in Hamburg, Germany. Founded in 2006, TeraVolt specializes in the development of pioneering digital TV experiences. The agency provides its customers with tailor-made solutions, from market-specific consultation to the creation and technical implementation of innovative products. Its product portfolio includes services, consultation and applications in the areas of Managed Platforms, Enhanced TV, Monetization and OTT. With a headquarter based in Hamburg’s beloved Schanzenviertel, TeraVolt consists of a highly experienced management team and 45 strategy, product and technology experts. https://www.teravolt.tv/

Hamburg, den 24.02.2020 Fernsehsender können künftig deutlich leichter US-Filme und -Serien in ihre HbbTV-Mediatheken („Hybrid Broadcasting Broadband TV“) integrieren. Also auf SmartTV Geräten mit HbbTV , die sowohl über digitales Fernsehen als auch Internet verfügen.

Die Einbindung von US-Inhalten in diese Mediatheken scheiterte bislang häufig an dem geforderten DRM-Schutz („Digital Rights Management“) für diese Inhalte einer digitalen Kopiersperre, mit der vor allem Content aus Übersee verschlüsselt ist. Die Sender standen daher vor einem Dilemma: Entweder investieren sie in einen Dienstleister, der ihnen eine auf DRM zugeschnittene HbbTVApp konzipiert oder sie verzichten auf diese besonders geschützten Inhalte.

Diese Problematik gehört fortan der Vergangenheit an. Der TeraVolt GmbH, einer Agentur für digitale TV-Produkte, ist es gelungen, DRM-geschützte Inhalte und HbbTV-Mediatheken in Einklang zu bringen und auf dafür geeigneten SmartTVs auszuspielen. HbbTV liefert die technische Grundlage dafür und erlaubt die Kombination von DRMgeschützten Inhalten in einem frei verfügbaren HbbTV-Angebot in der deutschen SmartTV Landschaft umzusetzen. Aktuell kommt diese Lösung beim Familiensender Super RTL zum Einsatz, für den TeraVolt eine eigene HbbTV-Mediathek gebaut hat und fortlaufend betreut. Das Konzept ist auf jede andere Mediathek übertragbar und somit auch für andere TV-Sender interessant, für die TeraVolt ein jahrelang bestehendes Problem lösen konnte.

Entsprechend stolz ist Oliver Koch, Geschäftsführer und Mitgründer von TeraVolt, auf die geleistete Arbeit: „Es hat uns viel Einsatz und Hirnschmalz gekostet, diesen DRM-Standard nutzbar zu machen, wodurch sich völlig neue Möglichkeiten für unsere Kunden ergeben. Zudem gibt es kaum andere Wettbewerber, die eine solche Lösung anbieten, aber eine umso größere Nachfrage im Markt. Unsere DRM-Lösung kann sich daher zu einem echten USP entwickeln.“

Unter dem Strich schlägt TeraVolt mit seiner neuen HbbTV-Lösung drei Fliegen mit einer Klappe: Die Rechteinhaber, zum Beispiel von US-Serien, gewinnen an Reichweite, da ihr Content noch weitreichender distribuiert wird. Die Lizenznehmer, also TV-Sender wie Super RTL, können wiederum mehr Inhalte in eigene HbbTV-Mediatheken implementieren und diese unmittelbar an ihre Zuschauer ausspielen. Und die Zuschauer selbst bekommen ein vielfältigeres Angebot geliefert, aus dem sie wählen können.

Über TeraVolt:

Die TeraVolt GmbH ist eine inhabergeführte Agentur für digitale TV-Produkte und -beratung mit Sitz im Hamburger Schanzenviertel. Das im Jahr 2006 gegründete Unternehmen ist auf die digitale Transformation des Fernsehens spezialisiert. TeraVolt berät und entwickelt zusammen mit ihren Kunden maßgeschneiderte Lösungen – von der ersten Idee zu innovativen Produkten im operativen Betrieb. Das Portfolio umfasst Dienstleistungen, Beratung und fertige Produkte in den Segmenten Managed Platforms, Enhanced TV, Monetization und OTT. Das TeraVolt-Team besteht aus vier erfahrenen Geschäftsführern und 45 Experten in den Bereichen Produkt, Strategie und Technologie. https://www.teravolt.tv/